Foundation Program Sites

Arman Dagal M.D., F.R.C.A. MHA is a Professor of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, Professor Orthopedic surgery and Sport Medicine, and Professor of Neurological Surgery (Adj) at the University of Washington, Seattle, WA.  Arman’s clinical expertise includes Spine/Neuro/Orthopedic/Trauma anesthesia; spinal cord blood flow and autoregulation, post-traumatic inflammation, perioperative blood loss.  He is also a pre-hospital and hospital educator in Spine, Neuro and Orthopedic trauma anesthesia and acute care, as well as an ATLS instructor, with experience in trauma systems, disaster planning and organization in global rescue missions.  Arman also has interests in Perioperative Enhanced Recovery and Surgical Outcomes.  Arman has over twenty publications in peer-reviewed, indexed journals, multiple abstracts, and other publications, has been a co-author in eleven book chapters, a grant receiver for the work on spinal cord blood flow and autoregulation, and has done research in perioperative and trauma care quality assurance and outcomes.  His educational leadership includes work as the Airlift North West Air Medical Service department lead and instructor; he organizes and participates in residents and paramedic simulation and formal education and is the Director of resident special workshops and health care quality improvement.  Arman also has local and national responsibilities.  He is currently the Spine and Orthopedic Anesthesiology service chief at Harborview Medical Center, works with the HMC Spine and Orthopedic Surgery Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) Committee, the Harborview Medical Center Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine CQI committee, HMC Anesthesia Department lead for Airlift North West Air Ambulance (ALNW), and is a member of ASA’s Committee in Trauma and Disaster Preparedness (COTEP).  Arman is also a founding member, secretary and treasurer of the Trauma Anesthesiology Society and Chair of Spine/Orthopedics and Trauma Committee of American Society of Enhanced Recovery.  He is also a Co-Medical Director of Enhanced Perioperative Care at Harborview Medical Center.   Arman recently received the Golden Seed Award for Excellence in Teaching, Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine, University of Washington, Seattle, WA.