Foundation Program Sites

Primary Care

Congratulations to our 2024 Bree Collaborative award winner for Best Practices in Primary Care:

  • Community Health Plan of Washington
  • Kaiser Permanente
  • HealthPoint
  • MultiCare

Primary care, widely seen as the cornerstone of the health care system, is the usual source of care for many and is associated with better population health outcomes. However, access to primary care remains an issue across Washington state and reimbursement is low. Our workgroup met through 2020 to define primary care in order to support broader payment reform.

Previous Meeting Materials

Date Materials
January 8 Agenda January 8
Bree Intro Slides
Bree Process
Charter Roster Draft January 8
February 12 Agenda February 12
Minutes January 8
Charter Roster Draft
Senate Bill 6413
HCA Primary Care Background
March 11 Agenda March 11
Minutes February 12
OFM Primary Care Expenditures Report
PC Summit Materials
New England Primary Care Wokrgroup
April 8 Agenda April 8
Minutes March 11
Draft Recommendations
HCA Medicaid Nurse Practitioners Overview
Temporary TeleSIMP Policy (Chronic Pain Management) 
Washington Healthcare Forum Telehealth Payment Policy
May 13 Agenda May 13
Minutes April 8
Draft Recommendations
Survey Results: Definition
June 10 Agenda June 10
Minutes May 13
Draft Recommendations
PC Multi-Dimensional Framework
July 8 Agenda July 8
Minutes June 10
Draft Recommendations
August 12 Agenda August 12
Minutes July 8
Draft Recommendations
Proposed Multi-payer PC Transformation Model
ACOG OB/GYN are PC Physicians
September 9 Agenda September 9
Minutes August 12
Draft Recommendations
October 14 Agenda October 14
Minutes September 9
Draft Recommendations

Workgroup Members

Name Title Organization
Judy Zerzan, MD, MPH (Chair) Chief Medical Officer Washington State Health Care Authority
Patricia Auerbach, MD, MBA Senior Medical Director UnitedHealthcare
Cynthia Burdick, MD Medical Director, Medicare and Medicaid Kaiser Permanente Washington
Tony Butruille, MD Chair, Primary Care Investment Task Force Washington Academy of Family Physicians
Jason Fodeman, MD Associate Medical Director Washington State Department of Labor and Industries
Bianca Frogner, PhD Associate Professor, Family Medicine; Director of Center for Health Workforce Studies University of Washington School of Medicine
Ingrid Gerbino, MD, FACP Chief, Department of Primary Care Virginia Mason
Karen Johnson, PhD, MHSA Director of Performance Improvement and Innovation Washington Health Alliance
Louise Kaplan, PhD, ARNP, FNP-BC, FAANP, FAAN Associate Professor, Associate Academic Director Washington State University Vancouver College of Nursing
Catherine Mazzawy
Senior Director, Safety and Quality
Washington State Hospital Association
Carl Olden, MD Family Physician Virginia Mason Memorial
Mary Kay O’Neill, MS, MBA Partner Mercer
Ashok Reddy, MD, MS Assistant Professor, Medicine University of Washington School of Medicine, Veterans Administration
Keri Waterland, PhD, MAOB Division Director, Division of Behavioral Health and Recovery Health Care Authority
Laura Kate Zaichkin, MPH Director, Health Plan Performance and Strategy SEIU 775 Benefits Group

Add your Comment