Foundation Program Sites

Risk of Violence to Others

Congratulations to our 2024 Bree Collaborative award winner for Best Practices in Risk of Violence Towards Others

Community Health Plan of Washington


The 2016 Washington State Supreme Court decision Volk v. DeMeerleer expanded the health care provider’s duty to warn potential victims of a patient’s violence. This workgroup recommended clinical best practices for providers caring for patients who may exhibit homicidal ideation. The workgroup met from January 2019 to January 2020 and recommendations were adopted in January 2020.


Previous Meeting Materials

Date Materials
January 6 Agenda January 6 2020
Minutes October 10
Minutes January 6 2020
Recommendations Risk of Violence to Others
October 10 Agenda October 10
Minutes September 12
Draft Recommendations Risk of Violence
September 12 Agenda September 12
Minutes July 11
Minutes August 1
August 1 Agenda August 1
Minutes July 11
Draft Recommendations Risk of Violence to Others
July 11 Agenda July 11
Minutes June 13
Draft Recommendations
June 13 Agenda June 13
Minutes May 23
Draft Recommendations Risk of Violence
May 23 Agenda May 23
Minutes April 25
Draft Recommendations Risk of Violence to Others
April 25 Agenda April 25
Minutes March 14
Risk of Violence Literature Review 2019
Involuntary Treatment Act Investigations
Suicide Care Recommendations Summary
March 14 Agenda March 14
Minutes February 21
Ohio Duty to Protect
Summary Suicide Care Recommendations
February 21 Agenda February 21
Minutes January 17
Draft Charter and Roster
Presentation Duty to Protect
Ohio Duty to Protect
January 17  Agenda January 17
Bree Presentation Slides
Charter and Roster
Conflict of Interest Form
OPMA Training Roster

Workgroup Members

Member Title Organization
 Kim Moore, MD (chair)  Associate Chief Medical Director CHI Franciscan
G. Andrew Benjamin, JD, PhD, ABPP Clinical Psychologist, Affiliate Professor of Law University of Washington
Kate Comtois, PhD, MPH Professor Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Harborview Medical Center
Jaclyn Greenberg, JD, LLM Policy Director, Legal Affairs Washington State Hospital Association
Laura Groshong, LICSW Private Practitioner Washington State Society for Clinical Social Work
Ian Harrel, MSW  Chief Operating Officer  Behavioral Health Resources
Marianne Marlow, MA, LMHC Member Washington Mental Health Counseling Association
Neetha Mony State Suicide Prevention Plan Program Manager, Injury & Violence Prevention, Prevention and Community Health Washington State Department of Health
Kelli Nomura, MBA Behavioral Health Administrator King County
Mary Ellen O’Keefe, ARNP, MN, MBA Clinical Nurse Specialist – Adult Psychiatric/Mental Health Nursing; President Elect Association of Advanced Psychiatric Nurse Practitioners
Jennifer Piel, MD, JD Psychiatrist Department of Psychiatry, University of Washington
Jeffrey Sung, MD Member Washington State Psychiatric Association
Samantha Slaughter, PsyD Member WA State Psychological Association
 Adrian Tillery   Harborview Mental Health and Addiction Services
Amanda Ibaraki Stine, LMFTA Member Washington Association for Marriage and Family Therapists

Add your Comment